Murray Dairy comprises an eight member board which is accountable to the dairy industry through an Industry Steering Group made up of dairy stakeholder representatives from across the Murray Dairy region. 

A Chief Executive Officer is responsible to the Board for the operational management of the organisation.
 The role of the Board is to:
• Develop policies and strategic direction for research, extension education and industry development in the region; 
• Invest industry Dairy Service levy funds allocated to the region by Dairy Australia to address priority issues identified by the Industry Steering Group; 
• Grow and diversify the research, extension and education funding base; 
• Develop and monitor the implementation of the five year Strategic Plan and Annual Operating Plan; and 
• Ensure sound management and infrastructure to deliver Murray Dairy programs across the region. 

Board members:

Richard Cross - Chairman

Rick Cross brings hands-on experience in dairy, having owned and managed his own family farm for over 20 years.
Rick has also served on a number of management boards including Tatura Milk Industries, and played a vital role in merger discussions with Bega Cheese in 2011.


Karen Moroney - Deputy Chairman

Appointed to the Board in October 2013, Karen is a fourth generation dairy farmer. 

In conjunction with her husband, Karen has owned and operated their family farm for more than 20 years. 

In 2011, Karen established a cross breeding business 'Auzred XB' that imports, markets and promotes the 'Aussie Red' breed at a national and international level. 

Karen holds a Diploma of Human Resource Management and is a member of a number of dairy industry committees including the Australian Dairy Herd Improvement Scheme, the Mitta Valley Advancement Forum and the Our Valley, Our Future project.



Greg Ault
Greg is a dairy farmer from Rochester and sits on the Murray Dairy Board


Chris Thomas
Chris has extensive experience in the dairy industry from starting in the family farm, to working for several years with Milk Processors in Milk Supply and Farm Services for over 30 years in Vic/ SA/ Tas, including recent work on Dairy Leadership Programs. Throughout this time he has engaged with several RDPs, including being a founding Director of DairySA. Chris works through his own consulting business in people development. He has a wealth of experience extends into regional development, community organisations and junior sport development. He has extensive knowledge in Corporate Governance, Strategic Planning, Social Welfare/Community Development, Policy Development and Risk Management. He holds a Masters of Applied Science (Rural Regional Development); Diploma of Management Practices; Masters of Corporate Leadership.





Tony McCarthy
Tony is a dairy farmer from Dhurringile.
Tony join the Murray Dairy Board because "I want to see the dairy industry grow and prosper into the future, I believe our success will be heavily influenced by sound research and development and the provision of relevant extension to all farmers in the region. I am very keen to do my part in supporting fellow directors and farmers in ensuring we have a well thought out strategic vision to drive the industry forward"


  Andrew Mann (Treasurer)
Andrew Mann works as an Agribusiness executive at CBA - Shepparton 

Andrew has spent the majority of his professional career working in Agribusiness Finance throughout eastern Australia, with the last 10 years spent in the Murray Dairy region and has extensive experience in the dairy industry. Andrew also works as a sessional lecturer at Latrobe University in the Bachelor of Agribusiness course